Rocky View County Council held its annual organizational meeting to elect a Reeve and Deputy Reeve, and make appointments to positions on a number of boards and committees.

The meeting began with the selection by Council of Division 7 Councillor Daniel Henn as Reeve and Division 2 Councillor Kim McKylor as Deputy Reeve. This is the first term for both Councillors. Under the County’s system, councillors elect a reeve and deputy reeve each year from their ranks. The reeve serves as head of Council, and chairs Council meetings.

Council also appointed councillors and public members to various boards and committees. Several of the available positions were advertised in advance, and Council reviewed resumes and applications ahead of Tuesday’s vote.

Internal Committees

  1. Municipal Planning Commission
    Council Members: Greg Boehlke, Daniel Henn, Jerry Gautreau, Kevin Hanson, Mark Kamachi, Kim McKylor, Al Schule, Samanntha Wright
    Chair: Councillor Jerry Gautreau
    Vice Chair: Councillor Al Schule
  2. Recreation Governance Committee
    Chair: Deputy Reeve Kim McKylor
    Vice Chair: Councillor Al Schule
  3. Agriculture Service Board
    Council Members: Greg Boehlke, Daniel Henn, Kim McKylor, Samanntha Wright
    Public Members: Tricia Fehr
    Chair: Councillor Greg Boehlke
  4. Family and Community Support Services Board
    Council Members: Kevin Hanson, Samanntha Wright
    Public Members: Debbie Maclean
  5. Assessment Review Boards
    Council Members: Jerry Gautreau
    Chair: Councillor Jerry Gautreau
    Vice Chair: Councillor Crystal Kissel
  6. Subdivision & Development Appeal Board / Enforcement Review Committee
    Council Member: Crystal Kissel
    Chair: Councillor Kissel
  7. Bragg Creek Fire Smart Committee
    Council Member: Mark Kamachi

External Committees

  1. Calgary Metropolitan Board
    Council Members: Daniel Henn, Greg Boehlke (alternate)
  2. Spray Lakes Sawmills Recreation Park Society
    Council Member: Kim McKylor
  3. Cochrane Intermunicipal Committee
    Council Members: Crystal Kissel, Samanntha Wright

During the meeting, Council also established the 2021 Council and Committee Meeting calendar.

The updated lists of board and committee members will be posted on the County’s website at