Rocky View County Council held its annual organizational meeting to elect a Reeve and Deputy Reeve and make appointments to positions on a number of boards and committees.

The meeting began with the selection by Council of Division 6 Councillor Greg Boehlke as Reeve for a fourth consecutive term, and Division 4 Councillor Al Schule as Deputy Reeve for a second consecutive term. Under the County’s system, councillors elect a reeve and deputy reeve each year from their ranks. The reeve serves as head of Council, and chairs Council meetings.

Councillor Jerry Gautreau was elected as chair of Council’s Governance and Priorities Committee and Councillor Kim McKylor was elected as Vice Chair.

Council also appointed councillors and public members to various boards and committees. The available positions were advertised in advance, and Council reviewed resumes and applications ahead of Tuesday’s vote.

Internal Committees:

  1. Governance and Priorities Committee
    Chair: Jerry Gautreau
  2. Recreation Governance Committee
    Chair: Kim McKylor
  3. Agriculture Service Board
    Council Members: Daniel Henn, Mark Kamachi, Kim McKylor
    Public Members: Ludwig Reicheneder
    Chair: Daniel Henn
  4. Family and Community Support Services Board
    Council Members: Mark Kamachi, Kim McKylor
    Public Members: Sarita Barrett, Dimitri Dimopoulos, Tiffany Fassnidge, Leah Stewart
  5. Subdivision & Development Appeal Board / Enforcement Review Committee
    Council Members: Daniel Henn, Kim McKylor (alternate)
    Public Members: Tricia Fehr, Hazel George, Morrie M. Goetjen, Wendy Metzger, Ian Galbraith (alternate), Pam Whitnack (alternate)
  6. Assessment Review Board
    Public Members: Wendy Metzger, Clayton Tychkowsky
  7. Bragg Creek Fire Smart Committee
    Public Members: Jorge de Freitas, Peter Dwan, Roche Herbst, Jeff Hughes, Ryan LeBoutillier, Charlie McLean, Gary Nikiforuk, Andrea Sparkes

External Committees:

  1. Calgary Metropolitan Board
    Council Members: Greg Boehlke, Jerry Gautreau (alternate)
  2. Calgary Airport Authority Board of Directors
    Public Member: Randolph Carron

The updated lists of board and committee members will be posted on the County’s website later in October at under the Government section.